Non-Profit Internet Source for News, Events, History, & Culture of Northern Frederick & Carroll County Md./Southern Adams County Pa.


Ron Harris wins Carroll Valley Mayoral primary

(5/23) Carroll Valley Borough incumbent Mayor Ronald Harris has been nominated by the Republican Party to run for mayor in the November general election, defeating challenger Michael J. Flannery.

Borough residents cast 250 mayoral votes in the May 21 primary election, 158 of those, or 63.20 percent, for Harris, and 91, or 36.40, for Flannery.
Regarding his primary victory, Harris told the News-Journal, “Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that take our breaths away. This is one such moment.”

“I will try my best to live up to the confidence that the voters have placed in me. I thank the voters and appreciate their confidence in me,” he stated.

Regarding the borough Council, four candidates, including three incumbents, vied for nomination for three vacant, four-year term seats. The three vacated seats include those of John Van Volkenburgh, Daniel Joseph Patton and Ken Lundberg, all of whom ran for nomination for reelection.

Of the 415 votes cast, Daniel Joseph Patton received 145 votes, or 34.94 percent. John Van Volkenburgh garnered 130 votes, or 31.33 percent, while non-incumbent John Cazalas received 129 votes, or 31.0 percent. Incumbent Ken Lundberg failed to achieve nomination.

In Fairfield Borough, the mayor seat and three seats on the borough council will be vacated with no one registered to run for any of the council positions.

Incumbent Mayor Robert R. Stanley, the sole candidate running for nomination in the hopes of ultimately securing another four-year term, received 40 of 41 votes cast.

The three seats that will become vacant include those of councilmen Dean Thomas, Alex Kessell and Shawn Gageby. No one had registered to run for any of the seats in the primary to be on the ballot, although there were write-in votes for nine individuals.

However, as the result of a preliminary count at the Fairfield poll, none of the nine individuals received ten or more votes, meaning none of the nine qualified to be listed as candidates in the general election ballot, according to the Adams County Office of Elections & Registration.

A representative of the county board said the official write-in count was not be immediately available, and also stated those who failed to acquire enough write-in votes to be nominated in the primary election can run as write-in in the general election.

In Hamiltonban Township, two township Board of Supervisors six-year term seats will be vacated Two incumbents ran in the primary for nomination, one as a write-in, along with two challengers.

The seats being vacated are those presently occupied by supervisors Harry Rood and James Grinder. Contesting the incumbents were former Supervisor Edward Deardorff and former township Secretary LuAnn Dille.

The top two candidates prevailing in the primary were Deardorf, with 147 votes, or 45.94 percent, and Rood, with 92 votes, or 28.75 percent. A total of 320 votes were cast, including 81 write-ins.

Read other articles related to Adams County