Non-Profit Internet Source for News, Events, History, & Culture of Northern Frederick & Carroll County Md./Southern Adams County Pa.


Emmitsburg Ambulance Company's 15th annual banquet

Chris Paterson

At Emmitsburg Ambulance Company's 15th annual banquet earlier this month, dozens of people were recognized for hard work and generous contributions to the company.

Among those recognized at the Feb. 7 banquet at Mother Seton School were volunteers Catherine Haines, Mary Lou Little, Jamie Eyler and Ashley Straw.

President Joseph Pelkey said the four were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the company. Haines, Little, Eyler and Straw worked at multiple fund-raising efforts during the year to raise a record-breaking $135,000 for the ambulance company.

Pelkey said bingo was the biggest fund-raiser, but the group also worked on flea markets, chicken barbecues, teen dances and raffles.

Humanitarian Awards were given to Loretta Sprankle and Darlene Share for assisting members in need during the year; the Chief's Award went to Keith Phillips.

Roland Haines was recognized as the Rookie of the Year. Haines is a new EMT and was one of the top 10 responders for the year.

The EMS Provider award went to Jessica Frantz, a first-year EMT, for her expertise.

Loretta Sprankle, Jamie Eyler and Robert Dinterman were recognized as Drivers of the Year.

The top responders recognized at the banquet were: Jamie Eyler, Joseph Pelkey, John Compton, Ronald Cool Jr., Robert Dinterman, Jessica Frantz, Roland Haines, Brian Koenig, Jeanette McGuire, Eric Stackhouse, Josh Wiles, Catherine Haines and Ashley Straw.

The company also received a special check presentation from the bingo committee for $116,619.20. The money represented proceeds from Monday and Friday night bingo events and other all-day bingo and basket and bear bingo games held throughout the year. Bingo chairperson Jamie Eyler presented the check to Pelkey.

This year's officers were also installed. They are: Pelkey, president; Eyler, vice president; Thomas Humerick, treasurer; Ashley Straw, assistant treasurer; Catherine Haines, secretary; Mary Lou Little, assistant secretary; Jeanette McGuire, chief; Eric Stackhouse, deputy chief; Keith Phillips, assistant chief; Brian Koening, captain; Roland Haines, lieutenant; and Jamie Eyler, sergeant.

The 2004 board of directors are: Loretta Sprankle, Jessica Frantz, Roland Haines and Edward Little. Liaison with the VFW is Robert Dinterman.

Read other news stories related to Emmitsburg